Zapka Paramedic Scholarship

Several Chillicothe R-II staff members received good news this (Wednesday) morning when Superintendent Dr. Dan Wiebers, Chillicothe Education Foundation President Ed Douglas, and CEF Board member Susan Fair surprised them with certificates naming them winners of the 2021-22 Mini Grant Winners for the second semester.

The Chillicothe Education Foundation funds the mini-grant competition each semester in its commitment to supporting excellence in education. This round of mini-grant winners included 7 applications which totaled $3,269.53 in winnings. The funds from the grants will be used to enhance the classroom experience and upgrade equipment throughout the District.

Superintendent Wiebers expressed his thanks to the Chillicothe Education Foundation and noted that the competition for these grants is always very competitive and the latest installment of entries was no exception. He noted that there were 12 applications for mini grants this Spring.

“We just have incredible teachers and staff members willing to go the extra mile to make sure our students are thriving in our buildings,” Superintendent Wiebers said. He added, “Thanks to the continuing support of the Chillicothe Education Foundation, our staff can utilize new and different technology and teaching strategies to keep students interested, involved and excited about learning new things.”     

The winners of the 2021-22 Mini Grants for the second semester were:

Erin McMains (CMS) -  CMSFocus Room: $501

Matthan Mrkvicka (CMS/CHS) - Performance Recordings: $472.83

Ellen  Hansen (CES) - Patty Palmer Award Winner, Meeting Students Needs Through Differentiated Instruction: $352.11

Cassie Holcer (CES) - Title I: $500

Natalie Holcer (Dewey) - You Read, We Read, I Read ... More!: $498.57

Shelly Falconer (CELC) - Building Crucial Skills Through Dramatic Play: $457.02

Nathan Zabka (GRTS) - Paramedic Supplies: $488.