R-II Teachers nominated for the Teacher of the year award are, from left: Janice Shaffer, GRTS; Amy Adams, CHS; Diane Pittman, CMS, Andrea Beck, Dewey (winner); Jill Allen, Field; and Adrienne Allen, CES.

(ABOVE) R-II Staff members nominated for the Beacon Award are, from left: Kristi Newlin, district nominee; Tamy Ewing, CES; Mary Jane Stephens, GRTS, Kimberly Taylor, Field; Crystal Lehman, CMS; and Julie Moore, Dewey.

Numerous Chillicothe R-II Staff members were honored today (Monday) for their years of service, and for excellence in the District during the annual service and awards program held at the Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center. The event culminated a day of professional development for teachers and staff members.

Chillicothe Education Foundation President Ed Douglas handed out the awards to the nominees from each building, and presented the top awards - Teacher of the Year and Beacon Award, to Dewey School’s fourth grade teacher Andrea Beck and Field School para-professional, Kimberly Taylor, respectively.

Other nominees for the Teacher of the Year Award were: Adrienne Allen, CES; Jill Allen, Field; Diane Pittman, CMS; Amy Adams, CHS; and Janice Shaffer, GRTS.

The remaining Beacon Award nominees were: Tamy Ewing, CES; Julie Moore, Dewey; Crystal Lehman, CMS; Lisa Wilson, CHS; and Mary Jane Stephens, GRTS.

"We are so grateful for the Chillicothe Education Foundation's support so that our outstanding teachers and support staff can be recognized for their dedication to the District's students," Dan Wiebers, superintendent said. “We are very blessed to have such a great staff working hard to do their jobs and exceed all expectations.”

The presentation followed the recognition of staff members who have earned service pins. Bill Hayen, Treasurer of the Chillicothe Board of Education, handed out the pins. Members of the R-II Staff who were recognized for their years of service were as follows:

5 Year Pins: Lily Pyrtle, Brenda Baker, Fallon Forbes, Carla Kelly, Mary Jane Stephens, Chris Shearer, Brandon Duckworth, Eric Menconi, Anna Plattner, David Slater, and Cinda Maasdam.

10 Year Pins: Kelly Griffith, Mandy Gaston, Lindsey Goad, Heidi May, Shaylee Rademacher, Jamie Sullivan, Abby Smith, Neal Wolf, Ruth Summer, Michael Jones.

15 Year Pins: Tiffany Acree, Lisa Rule, Kari Snyder, Stacy Surber, Rachael Wheeler, Brooke Wolf, Sarah Cavannah.

25 Year Pins: Laurinda Davison, Michael Haslar, Ruth Musselman.

A reception for those recognized was held following the program in the performing arts center's lobby.

(ABOVE) R-II Staff members honored for 25 years of service were, from left: Polly Musselman, Michael Haslar and Laurinda Davison.

(ABOVE) R-II Staff members honored for 15 years of service to the District were, from left: Stacy Surber, Sarah Cavanah, Lisa Rule, Brooke Wolfe, Rachael Wheeler, Tiffany Acree and Kari Snyder. 

(ABOVE) R-II Staff members honored for 10 years of service to the District were, from left: Shaylee Rademacher, Jamie Sullivan,  Abby Smith, Lindsey Goad, Heidi May, Bob Long, and Neal Wolf. Not pictured is Ruth Summers, Kelly Griffith and Mandy Gaston.

(ABOVE) R-II Staff members honored for five years of service are, from left: Fallon Forbes, Lily Pyrtle, Brenda Baker, Anna Plattner, Carla Kelly, Brandon Dennis, Eric Menconi. Not pictured: Mary Jane Stephens, Chris Shearer, David Slater and Cinda Maasdam.